March 14, 2013: Rain

Image

I finally had the chance to experience the 25mm amount of precipitation here in Saudi Arabia… for about fifteen seconds… a lot of fifteen seconds actually. It’s like the rain wanted to fall really, really bad; however, something was stopping it from doing so. It was kind of phenomenal for me. I’ve been here four months and today is the first time I see droplets of rain kiss the floor, my dad’s car’s windshield, and the sand. Funny because of so much happiness I wanted to take a video and a lot of pictures just so I can post it on Facebook and tell my friends, “Hey, this is my very first rainy encounter in the desert!”, sadly my camera’s not that awesome so I just resorted to watching the rain.

There is always something about the rain that I love so much. And there’s also something about the rain that I really hate. We start with the hate part…

I hate it when it rains and I’m in the middle of the street with no umbrella and it just so happens that my shirt is so thin it becomes see-through I reveal everything underneath. I hate it when it rains and everything I step on is filthy and I’m wearing clean shoes. I hate it when it rains and I have to fall in line at our jeepney station for a long time. I hate it when it rains and all people have umbrellas because if we walk all at the same time we make each other soaking wet. I hate it when it rains and I have no umbrella and have to walk and I am in a hurry and I have to stop every once in a while just to stay dry. I hate it when it rains and I am alone.

On the other hand…

I love the rain especially when I know that it’s about to fall and my umbrella is around. I love it when it’s raining and my friends and I just got in somewhere warm and cozy, we get to have coffee or whatever we wish to drink and talk about everything. I love watching the rain from somewhere with a coffee mug on my hand and a blanket to keep me warm. I like listening to the sound of rain while contemplating about life. I love that while it’s raining, my friends and I laugh and joke around, thinking why are we even walking and running under the rain when in fact we could actually let the rain stop. I love the rain especially when my whole family is home, and we get to bond, and laugh, and just be around each other.

While I was waiting for the rain to fall full blast, I thought, is there something that the rain and I have in common? It maybe an absurd comparison. Maybe I can say the “desert rain” and I have something that can be closely related… Like the rain is about to do its duty, to dampen the dry lands of the desert and to help lower the temperature or something, but it suddenly backs out just so it complies with the 25mm annual precipitation idea… I am about to do something that I am meant to do and yet I stop because… because people have standards that I cannot really achieve… And it scares me…

So… there’s the rain…

Leave a Reply

